United States

Ohio: Tax Amnesty Program Began January 1, 2018

Jan 15, 2018
From KPMG TaxWatch

Loading the player...

It’s a new year and Ohio is currently allowing delinquent taxpayers a new opportunity to come into compliance.  Ohio’s tax amnesty program began on January 1, 2018 and will run through February 15, 2018. During the program, amnesty is available for “qualifying delinquent taxes,” which are defined as unreported and underreported taxes that were due and payable as of May 1, 2017. “Qualifying delinquent taxes" does not include any tax for which a notice of assessment or audit has been issued, for which a bill has been issued, or for which an audit has been conducted or is currently being conducted. Taxpayers that reported their tax obligation, but did not pay the tax owed are also not eligible to participate in the amnesty program. Eligible taxes include, but are not limited to, withholding taxes, sales and use taxes, commercial activity tax, and financial institutions tax. Qualifying taxpayers can receive a 50 percent abatement of interest and a full abatement of penalties. Please contact Dave Perry at 513-763-2402 with questions on Ohio’s current tax amnesty program.

For more information about TWIST or to view archived episodes, please visit our TWIST homepage.

 Subscribe to TWIST via iTunes, or  Subscribe via RSS.

To receive TWIST e-mails each Monday morning, make sure that state, local and indirect is checked off as one of your topics of interest on the KPMG TaxWatch registration site.

The following information is not intended to be "written advice concerning one or more federal tax matters" subject to the requirements of section 10.37(a)(2) of Treasury Department Circular 230.

The information contained herein is of a general nature and based on authorities that are subject to change. Applicability of the information to specific situations should be determined through consultation with your tax adviser.